Meta is testing a feature that automatically uploads photos from your camera roll to their servers without your action. Turn it off in Facebook Settings & Privacy > Settings > Camera Roll Sharing Suggestions and flip the toggles to gray.
Chapters
Facebook is secretly uploading your photos and videos to their cloud. What's worse is that they can access the media that you haven't actually uploaded to the Facebook app. So if you have a Facebook account and care about data privacy, you might want to do one quick thing. Go to the menu bar on your app, click on Settings and Privacy, click Settings again, and then go on to Camera Roll Sharing Suggestions make sure these toggles are gray, which means they're turned off because Meta is testing a new feature called Cloud Processing, which lets them quietly upload content from your camera roll onto its cloud on a regular basis. So take those two seconds to check your privacy settings.