Apple iOS 17 update “NameDrop”

Caitlin Sarian explains Apple's NameDrop feature, which shares contact info when two iPhones touch. It requires both phones unlocked, the tops nearly touching, both users tapping to confirm, and either can cancel by moving away or locking their phone.
Chapters
The police are wrong. This is why you shouldn't be concerned about the new name drop iOS update I recently filmed a viral video about what Name Drop is and why people are freaking out about it, but I really want to come back on here and clarify a few main points. For those of you that didn't watch the video, here's an overview. Namedrop is a new feature from iOS17 that was automatically turned on. What Name Drop does is when two phones are put together, your contact information gets shared between the phones. Now, parents and police were concerned about kids in credit areas accidentally sharing their contact, but this is literally impossible to do. And here's why. In order for Name out to actually work and share your contact, these four things must happen. The first is that both phones must be unlocked, so if it's in your pocket and it's locked and you just sideswipe someone, you're not going to get their contact. The second is that the tops of both phones need to be extremely close and or touching. The third is that both users will receive a prompt and will have to press the either share button or receive button. So you're actively pressing a button in order to share. The fourth and final one is that at at any point of this process, if either person pull away their phone before it goes through or press the lock button before it goes through, the process will stop. Either way, I value data privacy. I value data protection. If you aren't going to be using this feature, I definitely would suggest you turn it off. Because why have it on if you're not going to use it? Like and follow for more cybersecurity tips and be sure to share this with a friend. Also, comment below if you have any more questions.
More from Caitlin

White House scraps a rule to block data brokers from selling your personal data









