A short YouTube tutorial by Caitlin Sarian explaining that photos include metadata (including exact location) and demonstrating how to remove location data before sending images. The video gives a quick step: swipe up on the photo, select "Adjust Location", and choose "No Location", plus a call-to-action to follow for more cybersecurity tips.
Chapters
You're sharing your exact location every time you send a photo, and if that person sends it to anyone else, they're getting your location too. Here's how to turn that feature off. Hi, I'm Caitlin. I'm a cyber security and data protection expert and I want to help you protect your data online. Let's go. So every time you take a photo, there is metadata attached to that photo. This metadata includes where it was taken, when it was taken, etc. But you have the ability to turn that metadata off. Here's how to do it before we continue like and follow for all the cybersecurity news and share this with a friend. This photo was taken by my friend's mom, sent to him, and then he sent it to me and I still see the exact location on where they took it. So just remember, before you send a photo, swipe up to get the metadata, go down to where it says adjust location adjust and press no location. And then you're free to send it and comment below if you want me to show you how to turn it off for all your photos like and follow for more cybersecurity tips. And be sure to share this with a friend.