Create A YouTube Brand Account without Deleting Your Channel

Trena Little walks through creating a branded YouTube account without deleting your channel. You keep all your videos and subscribers while switching to a business setup that lets you manage access more securely.
Did you know there's two different types of accounts you can have on YouTube? There's a personal account and there's a branded account. So which one should you have and how can you change it if you have the wrong one? No worries. I'm going to break it all down for you in this video. Hi, my name is Trena, and on this channel, I help creative entrepreneurs like you get on YouTube to grow your business. Like I said, there are two different types of channels you can have on YouTube. With a personal account, which is probably what most of you currently have, it's perfectly fine to start that way. There's nothing wrong with selecting a personal account. Here's the benefit of setting up as a branded account. As your channel begins to grow or as your business begins to grow, you get to the point where you need to take some things off your plate and delegate to other people. So maybe you need a virtual assistant or a business manager to upload your video to YouTube. Or maybe you need them to go in and check your analytics. Or maybe you hire me to go in and analyze your channel and manage it. It's more important for you if you give me access through a channel manager position than giving me your password. If you don't have a branded account, you can't add channel managers to your channel. What you end up having to do is give me your password or give that person your password. That password is your Google password, so that links to your Gmail, your Google Docs, your Google sheets, everything on Google. That's why if you see your channel becoming more of an asset to your business and more of a strategy in your business, you've got to switch to a branded account if you currently do not have a branded account. Now, I'm going to show you how to do that. But be aware, there are some things that happen when you switch from a personal to a branded account. These are not huge things. It's not detrimental to your channel. It's really important to get switched from that personal account to a branded account as soon as possible. So the one thing that will happen is you're going to lose all the comments that you made, not the comments that people have made, all the comments that you have made. They're not going to show up on those videos anymore. You're also, unfortunately, going to lose your custom URL. I know that's a tough pill to swallow for so many of you that have fought and struggled to get to 100 subscribers and have your custom URL. But it's much more important if you create a page on your website that sends people to your YouTube channel. So for me, I have trinalittle.com YouTube. That way everything is branded and it's not as important to have that custom URL. I know you got excited when you had it, but if you're switching from personal to branded, that's something that will occur. And that's basically the two major scary things that happen. I'm going to tell you right now. There's going to be a point if you continue to use YouTube in your business strategy that you're not going to want to do at all. You're going to want somebody to go in and pull analytic reports for you, or upload your thumbnail or upload your video. And you don't want to do it and you don't want to get that password out. This is another way that you can really skirt handing out your passwords and create channel managers. So let me show you on my computer how you can do this. So you're not afraid you're going to delete anything when you hit that move button. So to switch your account to a branded account, go into your YouTube settings and go down to advanced settings. You're going to want to look for the link that says move channel to branded account. Go ahead and click on that and this is the screen you're going to see. What it's telling you is your personal YouTube channel is connected to your personal Google account. What you need to do is take your personal YouTube channel and your personal Google account and move it to a branded Google page. What you want to do next is head on over to Google. You'll want to go to plus.google.com brand and create a Google page for your brand. So go ahead and click the Create Google page and put the name of your brand or your name, whatever you want your channel to be named and click Create. This will tell you that your page has been set up. You'll see now you have a branded page on Google. Now you can go back into move channel to a branded account. Make sure you're logged in and you'll see your brand new Google page there as the option to move your channel to. Then this is what your page will look like. Once you move from your personal account to a branded account, your personal Google page and your YouTube page will be moved into your branded page. So that's the icon that you're going to change. If it looks different, you're going to need to go into your Google brand page and change the icon for it to match up, you'll see that nothing is being deleted. Videos and playlists and subscribers should all remain the same. All of this should look the exact same. And then you can move your channel. What you'll see next is that your channel name and icon will be updated across YouTube and your channel URL will remain the same. What might happen is you'll lose your custom URL. If you have 100 plus subscribers and you claim that, and you may also lose the comments you've made on your channel, that's not a big deal. It's much more important to get your channel move over to this branded account. Then you can easily add channel managers by clicking that link and adding them here so that you can delegate your YouTube work. Now, some of you may already have a channel created, so I want to show you what that looks like. So let me go into my account and show you. I already have my YouTube channel and page linked to a branded page, Tips with Trina. So I don't have another one to move it to, but I do have a Trina Little branded page that that I could move it to. So if I wanted to, I could click the Trena Little branded page and move Tips with Trina, the channel and everything to Trena Little. But there is a channel associated with that business page, so that channel would be deleted. You'll see. This channel has zero subscribers, zero videos. This is the channel I would want deleted. You just have to make sure the channel that you want deleted has zero subscribers and zero views. That will make it safe to move from where your channel lies now to a branded account. Not that scary, right? So if you want to continue learning more about how you can make your YouTube channel better and get more subscribers and views, click the video that's on your screen right now. And don't forget to subscribe for weekly tips and strategies on how to use YouTube to grow your business. Thank you so much for watching. Bye.
More from Trena

Why Every "Business Guru" Suddenly Went All-In on YouTube (And What NOT to Copy)









